top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLisa Russell

The adventure begins 8-10-2021

After months of longing, plotting, planning, sewing, creating, and waiting, so much waiting, the day has arrived. This is the day I flee from my small town, leaving my home, my love, my furry and feathered children. I will miss them all very much while I’m away, but this adventure is one that I’ve been working towards since 2019.


I‘d be lying if I said I wasn’t scared. After all, there is still a vicious pandemic on the loose. I’m vaccinated but that certainly doesn’t make me impervious. I’m about to put myself in direct contact with thousands of people. It is frightening.

I made the decision to drive across the country rather than flying. It seemed more practical somehow. Luckily I have a wonderful travel companion. My dear friend will be on the first leg of my journey with me. Our first stop tonight will be in Spirit Lake, Idaho. we Should saddle up to the White Horse Saloon around 8:30 this evening. It’s said that many spirits haunt the 114 year old saloon and hotel.

One of the staff members at the hotel texted this morning about my pending check in and said to let her know if I had any questions or needs. Already I’m feeling like the customer service is above and beyond. First I ask if the restaurant will still be open when we arrive and she let me know sadly it would not be. I decide to ask her if there’s any brochures or printed information regarding the hotels haunted history. I tell her I’m on a creep America road trip and chose that place specifically for the haunted nature of it. She explained to me that the new owners do not want to put that sort of attention out there, however lots of people had experience with some strange occurrences in the building. I opted not to push it. I thanked Her and joked that “not everyone is probably as keen to stay in haunted hotel as I am” and she said that the room I was staying in was one with a lot of paranormal action. Naturally this got me more intrigued. I decided at that point I felt ok asking one more question. “Do you know the name of the ghost who supposedly haunts the room where I’ll be staying?” She replied “I do not know the real name but everyone I know calls it mama.”

Then she explained that the story goes…… A woman and her son were staying in the room below mine. This was around 100 years ago. The son got hit by a buggy outside of the hotel and died. The mother was so distraught that she returned to their room and committed suicide. The faint scent of a woman’s perfume will come and go. Some have seen a ghostly female figure, others have heard voices and witnessed items being relocated around the rooms. Perhaps I’ll see something for myself tonight.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page