top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLisa Russell

Rhinelander and the magical Hodag

I’ve started this entry several times over the past few days and something keeps interrupting me. My life has been a tad bit overwhelming since arriving in Nashville. I didn’t really allow myself enough time to do all I needed to before my 1st event. But I’m not here to talk about that. I’m here to talk about the Hodag and the Ana info town if Rhinelander, Wisconsin. as you enter the city limits of Rhinelander you’re immediately greeted with the fang toothed grin of a giant Hodag. If you’re reading this I’m going to assume you’re either knowledgeable about cryptids or know me personally and either way you should already know the history of the Hodag. If not google it. or better yet fall asleep listening to the Cryptid Comforts presents Monsters under my bed podcast episode about the Hodag. (Shameless self promotion)

My first stop was obviously to meet my best wholesale client, Ben, owner of the Hodag store. He’s awesome and super fun. He gave me a great shop tour and told Me about the town. If you’re ever in Rhinelander go there and tell Ben I sent you. While you’re there pick up a cryptid comforts stuffed Hodag, or pin, keychain, patch, cat nip toy, etc (more shameless self promotion)

Ben gave me a Hodag map and Brandi and I went to work locating them. One of the stops along our route led us to Kerry, a friend of ben’s who runs the pioneer museum. So many amazing hodags on display that I took hundreds of photos. As we continued our Hodag hunt, Brandi saw a taco John’s and we decided eating tacos was an important thing to stop and do. Do we got done grub, and went to the hotel to chill out for a while. That evening we went back into town for a little Hodag hoedown. On my to do list was also to go the Rhinelander Brewery and try some delicious beers! Their tasting tray is 6 4oz beers, and it comes with 3 to go cans of beer, a glass, a pen, and a coaster, and it’s only $12!!! Also, there are coupons out there that get you 2 of everything just named for the price of 1. That is a crazy amount of beer for $12!! Best deal ever! I give Rhinelander the highest ratings of everything we did on the way out. By far the town with the most monster love. They seriously devote the whole town to their legendary Hodag.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page