top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLisa Russell

Idaho and Montana

So far my journey has led me and my wonderful travel companion about 800 miles. The White Horse Saloon was lovely. We didn’t exper any paranormal activity for ourselves. Unless those voices we heard weren’t other people staying there. Or perhaps the bathroom door closing on its own wasn’t about a floor tilt and a running ac. But my rational brain tells me those things were easily explained by things not related to hauntings. Still it was nice.

The hotel didn’t have WiFi though, which made me realize that my cellular data didn’t work on my phone. It actually never has on my new phone and I’ve always found ways to get on WiFi so I didn’t really think too much about it. But as I’ll be traveling I will be needing that. I spend an hour yesterday morning on a call with my cell provider m. I think the issue is fixed now. after that we got back on the road, a little later than intended, but it was all good. We pulled over at our first stop needing coffee and found ourselves in Wallace, Idaho. This was not a planned stop so we were pleasantly surprised by how adorable the town was. We found a little metal ufo looking structure right by a very vintage looking sign for the Stardust Motel. As we wandered through town we found some really odd and cute things that I took a bunch of photos of. To see all of those just head on over to Instagram.com/@cryptid_comforts

We found an gift shop that had an espresso bar and went in. We got immediate bad vibes from the woman behind the counter. We both felt like the bad vibes were about us wearing masks. But that’s putting an assumption out there and it could just be that she’s just a very unpleasant person with zero customer service skills. Regardless, I ordered a Mocha and as soon as she started steaming the milk I regretted my decision to do hot. Brandi ordering second knew better and got iced. Despite the badly made mocha and unfriendly “barista” we give the town a big thumbs up for quaint charm and cute kitsch.

Next stop was when we pulled over for gas, who knows where and found a super cute 50’s looking burger place with Betty Boop out front. If you haven’t figured it out yet I adore roadside kitsch and anything weird or silly. Our first planned stop was the Montana Old Prison in Deer Lodge, Montana. It was operational from 1871 until 1979. There have been numerous reports of strange activity. Shadows moving, things flying through the air, disembodied voices, and even the sensation of being choked or other bodily harm. A number of ghost hunters have visited this place. It’s been featured on TV shows. we were planning to go into the museum but decided that the large number of unmasked individuals in there outweighed our desire to go inside. I did a walk around the outside, and the structure of the building was beautiful. The large stone walls looming up seemed in such good condition it was hard to believe that building was over 140 years old. The town of Deer Lodge was another cute and quaint place. They had a fun little mini village with a mock jail, church, and other structures that we wanted through. There is also a group of train cars, and a huge railroad spike. after there we drive to Forsyth, Montana and we settled into our motel. It’s not nice but it’s relatively clean. The staff was friendly and we didn’t get murdered in our sleep. This is where we currently are, just waking up to continue our journey through Montana and into North Dakota today. About an hour outside of where we are now is a place referred to as the Devil’s Dancing Grounds, where strange things often occur. I hoped it was closer and that we’d start there this morning, but I would rather just move forward and not take 2+ hours out of our travel time for what could potentially just be an empty field. Until next time, stay spooky!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page